RSS

Acts 9:1-9

19 Apr

Meanwhile, Saul was uttering threats with every breath and was eager to kill the Lord’s followers. So he went to the high priest. He requested letters addressed to the synagogues in Damascus, asking for their cooperation in the arrest of any followers of the Way he found there. He wanted to bring them—both men and women—back to Jerusalem in chains.

As he was approaching Damascus on this mission, a light from heaven suddenly shone down around him. He fell to the ground and heard a voice saying to him, “Saul! Saul! Why are you persecuting me?”

“Who are you, lord?” Saul asked.

And the voice replied, “I am Jesus, the one you are persecuting! Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.”

The men with Saul stood speechless, for they heard the sound of someone’s voice but saw no one! Saul picked himself up off the ground, but when he opened his eyes he was blind. So his companions led him by the hand to Damascus. He remained there blind for three days and did not eat or drink.

Acts 9:1-9

Dear God, somehow, I’ve never thought about the men who were with Saul before. What were they like before, during, and after this experience? What happened to them after this? Did they become part of The Way? Did their families think they were crazy? What did this seemingly routine trip to Damascus do to them as well. We know what it did to Saul, but what did it do to them?

I guess this is a reminder to me that none of us, including Paul on that fateful day, go through life alone where what happens to us doesn’t impact others. I had my unique experience with you in the summer of 1987 at an FCA Leadership Conference, but it didn’t stop with me. It dominoed into some of my friends’ lives too, one of whom became an international missionary. Almost exactly 24 years ago, I had another significant moment with you at Laity Lodge when I was inspired by you to start doing these prayer journals. These have changed how I relate to you, and I know they have touched some others as well. And Paul’s life and his experience that day not only touched the men who were with him, but then Ananias later, and then the world. Amazing. In the words of Kurt Kaiser, “It only takes a spark to get a fire going, and soon all those around can warm up to its glowing. That’s how it is with God’s love once you’ve experienced it. You’ll spread His love to everyone. You’ll want to pass it on.”

Father, help me to pass you on to others today.

I pray this in Jesus and with your Holy Spirit,

Amen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2024 in Acts

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment